Hello, Goodbye

“The time has come,” the Walrus said/To talk of many things” – Lewis Carroll 1872

Dear Philadelphia,

I <3 you. Always have, always will. But now it’s time for me to say goodbye. You knew, right? I mean, this isn’t a surprise or anything. We’ve been drifting apart for months now. Ever since I told you I was headed to school, you’ve been a little cold. Well, maybe it’s just me. I mean, it’s definitely me. Not you. You’ve always been a perfect sweetheart.

But it’s time to move on. Although it was, oh so good. Better than good. Amazing. You showed your kindness, right from the beginning, when I started writing to you ten months ago. And as the months went on, it only got better. We talked every day. Sometimes three, four times a day. I’ve admit to being a little obsessed with you. We went to parties together. We explored the city. Sure we had our the occasional argument, who doesn’t? A fight here or there. But in the end, we always made up. Because I loved you. And you loved me. I learned so much from you. You gave me so much. Too much. I’ll never forget it. What a journey.

It’s not like it used to be, though. Things have changed. We just don’t make enough time for each other. I’m busy with work. Every day. That whole nine to five grind. And then school from 5 to 10. I don’t have time to talk to you every day.  And you’re busy too. I don’t want to waste your time. If I can’t give you my full attention, I don’t see the point in trying. It can’t be a one-way relationship. You know that. Sometimes at nights, when we’re both a little tired, I try to make conversation. But let’s face it, we can’t keep going on with these 3am conversations. It’s either you sweets, or that $60k in loans I’ll end up taking out. And I’m sorry, I don’t want to be bankrupt. 

I have to take some time for myself. *Sigh. This is so hard. I’m so torn. But I keep trying to do everything, and it just isnt’ working. I’m neglecting you. And I’m neglecting everything else.  I want to be with you,  I do. And you want me too. Every day. Every month. But I think this relationship has peaked. Let’s just stop while we’re ahead. We’ll always have the memories?

Look, we’re both grownups here. Can’t we just stay friends? You can still find me here. And here. I’ll be there every week. And heck, you know I’ll always be there for you. I’m sure we’ll see each other around town. Maybe this time you’ll pay for lunch. And my email address hasn’t changed. You can still send me a note. And if you’re doing something cool, let me know. I can let everyone know here. And who knows, maybe after three years, we can hang out again? Or maybe form a more…permanent attachment. We’ll see. 

Love,

PG

13 responses to “Hello, Goodbye

  1. Say it isn’t so!!!

  2. So. But it’s been swell.

  3. Aww man this is sad, but I totally understand, working full time and law school is already wonder woman status!

  4. NAAAAHIIIIIIIN!!!!!!!!

    YEH NAHIN HO SAKTA!!!!!!!

    but why, pg, why can’t you be superwonderwoman and do it ALL?!!!

  5. Thanks Ms. I’m-Too-Busy-Getting-Married-To-Blog <3. Also, congrats!

  6. lol, thanks pookie. Im blogging nowadays though… in your honour! yes, i will keep the flames alive for your hemingwayish hotness.

  7. Um yeah, this is depressing :(

  8. No worries, SingleInPhillyGrrl, the ladies at ShmittenKitten would be so lucky as to have you…

  9. And also, let’s give it up for the PG contributors. I’ll miss you guys :(

  10. OMG you’re such a Drama Queen…or should I say Drama “diva.” Now maybe you’ll find time to start working on that screenplay/stage play/novel that will feature ME, ME, ME. And don’t worry about the 60 large; everyone should go through bankruptcy at least once in their life. If ever I see you wandering the streets of CC, looking particularly haggard and hungry, I promise I’ll buy you lunch…well, at least a soft pretzel. Oh, and good hunting in TU’s shyster prep program.

    For real, though I assume you do know you’re loved, right?

  11. Doug, Maybe this time you’ll pay for lunch=paycheck for articles/a more…permanent attachment=novel.

  12. Okay, I get it, you’re a through and through Dickensian; “Pay me and I’ll write.” I don’t mean to suggest that Dickens ever said that, but I’m sure he was pretty much always thinking it. I suppose you’d expect an advance, too.
    Whatever happened to: “They are happy indeed who own nothing at all; Those with highest knowledge own nothing at all. See how people who own things are afflicted, bound to others by their obligations.”
    Udana 2.6

    P.S. I love Isheeta’s “…hemingwayish hotness.” I wonder if that means, she thinks you write like Hemingway, or that you look like Hemingway?

    I guess “<3" doesn't translate clearly into e-mail? ne ways, ditto.

Leave a Reply

