Daily Archives: June 28, 2009

The Greatest of All Time

Michael Jackson1

I can’t say the death of Michael Jackson affected me as much as it did my peers. I didn’t know him like they did. But I was touched when my friend A.L. wrote this tribute:

Michael Jackson is dead – I read it, I write it, and still it’s hard to believe. I am really, genuinely sad, as if I have known him, as if a friend just passed. But …you know… he WAS my friend. I grew up with him. He taught me in lyrics, compositions, dances. He comforted me through heartbreaks, and family fights and all kinds of other worries. He accompanied me – as so many others all over the world – through major stages of my life. And that is why so many, many people all over the world feel the way I do now- and can’t fathom that he is gone. Still, this is also a very personal sadness, and it is real. Continue reading