Three Summer Accessories Every PG Needs

I’m not a fashionable gal. I don’t stress over straightening irons or hairdryers (I lost mine a year ago and haven’t missed them.) I wear makeup. When I remember.

If a piece of clothing is comfortable, I’ll wear it. If not – back to the thrift store it goes. But, as the languorous days of  summer approach (or have they already come?) a little glamor is called for. Especially if you’re a phillygrrl.

Three things that are more Betty Davis than Ugly Betty?

aviatorThe aviator glasses. Or as I like to call ’em – the boyfriend sunglasses. (I used to wear the men’s version.) But now they’ve started making women’s aviator glasses. Finally. Why aviators? They’re delicate, not chunky like those Chanel-type sunglasses. So they work with any face. Not just an anorexic/plastic-surgeried one.  And they’re metallic (not plastic, ugh). So they match with your  jewelry. Plus, you can pretend you’re the female James Bond and be hard-core myterious. It adds a little edge to an otherwise feminine get-up.

maxi

The maxi dress. Oh, so flattering! It works for any shape. Doesn’t work for any size though. Hard to find one in a petite size. It skims unflattering points. Hugs curves. Plus you can dress it up with a belt for a night out. Or wear it to the beach. It’s versatile. Which is always good. Buy a couple of solids and mix and match with some printed shirts for a breezy summer. Forget Macy’s, you can find ’em at any ghetto store on Market Street.

gladiator

The gladiator sandal. Okay, I don’t really like every version of the gladiator sandal. The ones that go all the way to the ankle make you look more like Russell Crowe than anything else. Stick with minimum strappiness, solid colors (brown/gold/black/grey/beige) and stone accents.

9 responses to “Three Summer Accessories Every PG Needs

  1. Where are those gladiators from? So cute!

  2. si, i gag at most gladiator sandals. with the multi multi multi straps.

  3. I cannot for the life of me find ’em. (Grabbed them from Google images.) That’s why I should give photo credits. I’m sorry! But I’m sure you can find a similar pair at any department store.

  4. Definitely agree, MB. Those things takes the trend to a whole new level of ugly. If I wanted to actually be a gladiator, I would build a time machine.

  5. Oddly enough, I wrote a very similar post in my blog a little while ago. http://foreigndesi.wordpress.com/2009/05/13/must-haves/

    And I can’t agree more about the gladiator sandals. Have you seen the ankle high gladiator sandles with HEELS? It’s like those sneakers with heels. *blech*

  6. Oh and I am a huge fan of the huge plastic sun glasses :P Even if my face isn’t of the anorexic plastic surgery variety.

  7. Ugh, I hate those gladiator heels, FD. Yech. You’re right, I have like five of those chanel-style sunglasses. But I look like a pumpkin in ’em. Still love ’em though!

  8. Pingback: Harem Pants Are NOT Hot « My Philadelphia Story

  9. Pingback: It’s All in Da Foot « My Philadelphia Story

Leave a comment